Gluten-free bread

If I could, I would eat bread every single day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The problem with that of course is that bread is not exactly the healthiest option you can make food-wise. Don’t get me wrong, I love treating myself to a nice, fluffy piece of bread at an Italian restaurant, but I find that actually finding good bread worth making a treat of can be such a struggle.

That’s why I seriously don’t know why it took me so long to make my own bread. I feel like it was because I always thought that making bread was an hour-long affair, which had to involve messing up your entire kitchen with flour all over. Last week however, I stumbled over My Good Roots Bread Recipe and everything changed. It’s a one-bowl recipe that makes a nut- and-seed-based bread and uses no flour. I repeat: no flour. And may I add that the prep time for this recipe is literally 5 minutes as you only have to mix all ingredients together in a bowl?

Really, the only tricky thing about the recipe is that you have to get your hands on Psyllium Husk Powder.

If you’ve never heard of Psyllium Husk before, and I certainly haven’t, I can tell you that Psyllium Husk is one of nature’s most absorbing natural fibres. In fact, I found out that it can be found in many laxatives as it’s absorbing qualities can help you with bowel movement- I’ve been adding half a teaspoon of it into my smoothies for a couple of weeks now and can already see a huge difference, just gonna leave that right there.

This magical fibre is also the reason you don’t have to use any flour in this recipe as it’s what makes the bread stick together- if you don’t have any Psyllium Husk at hand (I got mine online for around 3$, it’s super cheap, trust me), there is no exact substitute for it as far as I know; you can try using more chia seeds and a healthy and not as refined flour, such as Buckwheat Flour, but to really make this recipe using no flour and a base made from nuts and seeds, you’ll need the psyllium husk. #Sorry

For the recipe, you will need:

image3-2

1, 5- 2 cups of seeds and nuts you want to use – For reference, I used sunflower and pumpkin seeds and a nut mix containing cashews, pecans, almonds and walnuts

1,5 cups of water

1,5 cups of oats

1 cup of raisins

2 Tbsp. Coconut Oil

2 Tbsp. Chia seeds- soaked in some water

3 Tbsp Psyllium Husk Powder

1 Tbsp. Sweetener- I used Agave

 

image6-2

image5-2

Put all ingredients together in a bowl.

image4-2

Add the fluid components, like the water, agave and coconut oil, last. The batter should have a sponge-y and fluffy consistency once you whisk everything together; when you feel like the batter is too dry and stiff, just add more water and whisk it all up again.

image1-4

Mix it all up and put in a loaf tin.

image2-2

Important: Let the batter sit for at least an hour to let it rise thoroughly. The psyllium husk needs some time to fully absorb the moisture in the batter, so the longer you can let the batter sit before shoving it in the oven, the fluffier it’ll become and the better the consistency of your finished bread will be.

Then bake it for an hour until you’re left with something like this:

image7-2

Tadaaaaa!

There’s a good reason that Sarah from My New Roots called this loaf the life-changing loaf of bread. I really encourage you to give this recipe a try, it’s so easy to make and tastes divine to say the least. My oven has been in full use since I stumbled upon this recipe a couple of weeks ago as I’ve been making it all the time. #noshame

I’d love to know if you guys have any secret hacks when making your own bread?

Love,

 

x Mila

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

