Easy and affordable lunches

During my gap year that I spend working in an adult-y office environment, one of the things I learned that struck with me to most was how to make easy and affordable lunches that could be taken with me on the go and would not take ages to make. Curries, stews and bakes of all kind quickly became my best friend and pulled me through the cloudiest (or sometimes sunniest) of times in London and have stayed with me ever since. #forevertogether

As everyone around me still seems to be so amazed at how I manage to prep my lunches daily, I thought I would share with you my favorite lunch recipes that will taste amazingly, make you feel more energized, save you a fortune, and pave the way for you to become the next cooking #queen.

  • Chickpea, Sweet Potato and Spinach Curry: Bursting with different flavors, this dish is so incredibly tasty and healthy!
    • How? Chop up the Sweet Potatoes and put them in a big pot together with the chickpeas and spinach and tomato puree, garlic, a cut-up onion, turmeric, cumin and some pepper. Cook for about 20 mins with lid on.
    • Why? The starchy carbs of the sweet potatoes can be quickly digested in your body and will keep you full for a long time, while the chickpeas will provide you with protein, iron and potassium. Spinach comes with high levels of Vitamin A and K and the turmeric has anti-inflammatory properties.

 

  • Buddha Bowl: Buddha Bowls are an uber fancy word for throwing various vegetables you’ve got at hand in a bowl. The possibilities are endless, get creative and create your own bowl of goodness!
    • How? I love making these nourishing bowls with baked Sweet Potatoes, Guacamole, Fried Paprika and Courgette and Quinoa. Simply cook , bake, wok or stir-fry the vegetables and grains you need and arrange them in a bowl. Couldn’t be easier. 
    • Why? Such a bowl is a great way to really pack in a bunch of different vegetables with differing flavors and textures. When making one, make sure to add some starchy and complex carbs, such as Sweet Potatoes, to satiate you more and then just add your colorful vegetables for a bunch of vitamins and micronutrients all across the board.

 

  • One-Pot Vegetable Pasta: Oh boy, those have really taken my heart by storm. I love that all it requires to make them is to chop your vegetables, put them in a pot and let them cook. Finito. Here however I am a fan of legume-based pastas, such as spaghetti made from chickpeas or green baby peas. Brown Rice Pasta is another favourite of mine as I like to keep my kitchen free from the plain and beige pasta options out there, but go for whatever’s easiest for you.
    • How? My preferred combination here is using brown rice pasta and putting that in a pot with chopped onion and garlic, mushrooms, courgette, tomatoes and paprika. For spices, I use dried chilli, pepper and some tomato puree and lemon juice. Add boiled water until everything is covered in fluid and let it cook with a lid on for 15-20 minutes maximum.
    • Why? While courgette may not be bursting with micronutrients, it does contain sustainable levels of soluble fibre, which are great for stabilizing insulin levels in your body, and of Vitamin C and potassium, which is essential for muscle repair. Mushrooms come with Vitamin D, Paprika with Vitamin A, Tomatoes again with Vitamin C and Chilli boosts your metabolism. Clearly, this is a meal jam-packed with an array of nourishing ingredients, especially when you use legume-based pasta. Genius, let me tell you.  

So that sums up my top three easy and affordable recipes! I would genuinely not make it till the end of the week without making at least two of those three every week and think they tickle all taste buds, from Indian to Mediterranean.

Enjoy making them!

All the love as always,

x Mila

Leave a comment